Behind-the-Book: An Intimate Close up on Claiming Jeremiah

Happy Wednesday Lovelies!

A few days ago, I had an amazing author interview with Authors N Focus. In the interview I was asked to share my favorite part of Claiming Jeremiah.  This of course through me for a loop, because entire story is my favorite. However, after thinking about it, I couldn’t deny my most favorite part.

“My favorite part of Claiming Jeremiah is when Jordyn finally gets to meet Jeremiah. After six months of yearning to see him and loving a child she has never seen, in that moment it all makes sense to her. The late nights, the arguments, the endless phone calls all become a distant memory and pure happiness consumes her. Her heart and mind are at peace.” 

This scene in the book was very intimate and personal to me. I remember like it was yesterday, the first time I laid eyes on my son. The anticipation of wait was over. The moment I laid eyes on him and held him in my arms, the love I felt was indescribable. There are no words that could describe the joy I felt. No words could describe the happiness and energy inside that room. To me – outside of this being my favorite scene it was the hardest to write. It was the hardest, because no amount of words could capture the scene the way you feel when you are in that exact moment. Therefore, it’s a critical and intimating scene to capture all the emotions for readers to feel what Jordyn (myself) is feeling.

Read the full interview here at Authors N Focus website. 

Here are some photos from my first-time visit: 

Picture1

I’m sure he was thinking who is this crazy lady.

Picture3

He had the “I’m going to the bathroom face”.

Picture5

Me changing the diaper. It took me well over two minutes.

Picture4

He was way more comfortable by now.

Picture2

Awww, it’s almost time to say good-bye.

xoxo,

Missy B. Salick

Leave a Reply

