My Summer Reading List

The summer is here! The summer is here!

book

Normally, during the wintertime is when I do most of my back-to-back reading. However, since this summer I actually plan to have somewhat of a life and travel, I figure I can get a lot of reading done. Going to the beach and enjoying the outside weather (parks, picnics, family trips), is the best time to bring books along with you. Even though I have more electronic devices than I care to mention right now :), I still enjoy the smell and feel of a good ol’-fashioned perfectly bounded novel. Some of my summer books to read are new, some are old, and some are just worth rereading.

 

Here are some of the books I plan to read that were recommended or caught my interest:

1.  James McBride: The Color of Water ja


 

 

 

 

 

2.  Dr. S.L. Jones: A Movement of Change 

DR

 

 

 

 

 

3.  B. Styliz Ortiz: Pretty Boy with the House in Virginia

b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. F. Scott Fitzgerald:  The Great Gatsby

gg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5–7. Alice Walker 

– The Color Purple

cp

– Possessing the Secret of Joy

 

aw

-The Temple of My Familiar

aaw

 

 

 

 

 

8. John Grisham: The Partner 

jg

 

 

 

 

 

9. Sister Souljah: No Disrespect 

ss

 

 

 

 

 

10. Sheryl Sandberg: Lean In

ss1

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is on your summer reading list? Have you read any of these, if so let me know what’s a miss and what’s a must-read?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

